Happy 2016!

It’s a new year! I am a little late to talk about the holiday season but I really enjoyed the Christmas and festive gatherings with friends that I gotta blog about them.

I had a Christmas potluck dinner with my ex-colleagues where I contributed a cake. The process of making this cake was really eventful – I took 4 hours!

The cake was made of sponge layers sandwiched with orange curd and Cointreau chocolate ganache. The chocolate ganache was a total last minute decision. My orange curd overcooked and I strained a bit of cooked egg away, leaving me with very little curd. I also frosted the cake with marshmallowy Swiss meringue and topped it with crushed candy canes for a festive look. The cake wasn’t fantastic, considering I’m a total noob at this, but it was edible. Passable, I guess.

We also had lots of food – seafood pasta, beef stew, salad, fruit quinoa salad (not pictured), garlic bread (not pictured), bacon chicken rolls and stuffed mushrooms.

Well, I guess this is the time to make a list of my New Year’s Resolutions. I have already started on some, since a new year has already begun.

  1. Keep this blog alive. I will bake / cook / make tasty treats at least twice a month and blog about my successful attempts. I am definitely also trying to make more challenging stuff, like how I tried to make soft caramel candies today. Failed terribly as I burnt the caramel and had to dump it. Well, practice makes perfect!
  2. ย Maintain a healthy diet. I’m a really picky eater. I dislike veggies since I was young and will not eat them. But recently, I have become more accepting to try them, i.e. adding spinach to my smoothies, eating greens and salads beside my food and the greens my mum cooked. I am building up my food repertoire so that I have more alternatives in food than eating meat all the time. I’m trying to add more fruits and veggies and abstain from snacking on junk food.
  3. Exercise more. At least twice a week. I’m so incredibly lazy that I procrastinate when I want to exercise. I signed up for an aqua aerobics course and my office just had a gym opened. Less excuses for me to skive!

I’m going to keep my list simple. Of course there are so many aspects I can plan for myself to do – work towards a better career, better financial planning and starting a relationship. But I think if I can change my attitude, from being a lazy bum who procrastinates way too much to someone who takes care of herself properly, everything will fall into place properly.

 

Leave a Reply

